National Ganga River Basin Authority

The need for revamping the river conservation programme was widely recognised in view of the shortcomings in the approach followed in GAP. It was felt necessary that a new holistic approach based on river basin as the unit of planning and institutional redesign may be adopted.

Read More


Ganga Action Plan

Phase I
The Ganga Action Plan (GAP) Phase - I which was taken up as 100% Centrally funded scheme and aimed at preventing the pollution of river Ganga and to improve.

Read More

Phase II
The program of river cleaning was extended to other major rivers of the country under two separate schemes of GAP Phase - II and the National River Conservation Plan (NRCP).

Read More

Facts at a glance

Length: 2,525 sq. km

Source: Gaumukh(Gangotri Glacier) at 4,000 km above MSL

Ganga Basin: More than one million sq. km

Drainage area: 861,404 sq. km

States: 11 states viz U.P., H.P., Uttrakhand, Rajasthan, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Bihar, West Bangal and Delhi.

Rivers: 14 rivers viz Batwa, Chambal, Damodar, Gandak, Ganga, Ghagra, Gomti, Hindon, Kali, Khan, Kosi, Kshipra, Ramganga and Yamuna.

Population Support: 43% of its population (448.3 million as per 2001 census).

Average Rainfall: varies between 39 cm to 200 cm, with an average of 110 cm.

Position: East longitudes 7330 and 890, North longitudes 2230 and 3130.